A. Go to the page you want to share and click on the word ‘share’ in the bottom right corner.
- A dialog will appear where the name and email address of the person you wish to have access may be added (use the dropdown to select contacts already added).
- There are two options -
- Firstly selecting the checkbox "Automatically send this link to the user" will open a further space where a message may be added to the email to the third party along with a link (a 'token') to access that page - they become like a very limited temporary user.
- The second option (not selecting the checkbox) means when the share is saved the link will pop up in another dialog - copy and paste this into a regular email to share with the user (this option allows the auditor to create one email with a series of links to different pages.
- When the third party receives the link they may then add comments and attachments (for example they could upload a copy of their procedures manual or amendments to their trust deed)
- There is a message at the top of the page that it is shared and showing the status.
- Plus there is a tab in the sidebar that shows the status of all shares.
- Third parties may only access the shared page - nothing else in the workbook.
- They may close and reopen the page for as long as it shared remains shared or until they click "Mark as completed".
- To remove the share delete the 'shared with...' message at the top of the page and their access is terminated.
- If they do not get the email (spam filters sometimes pick up this kind of automatically generated email) then 'edit' the share comment to open the copy and paste the 'token' link shown there into a standard email to the client.
See also Sharing pages with third parties.