Sharing pages allows secure real-time access to selected pages within a client workbook, say to invite a client to answer a questionnaire, to attach items, or make a comment directly into the software for say commenting on analytical review results or completing systems notes.
- Any page (apart from transactions testing pages and documents) may be shared for third party access.
- Many pages are designed to be shared, and when they are opened a prompt to share will be displayed.
- To create a new share, click "share workpaper" when you get the following prompt
- Pages where the prompt is not displayed may also be shared; click "Share" in the bottom right corner of the page.
- A share dialog like this will appear:
Completing the form and clicking share will generate a shared link. The link can be sent to a user and they will have access to the page but no other page.
- Names and email addresses of contacts already set up will be available as auto-completes
- The checkbox labeled Automatically send this link to user is unchecked by default. When ticked the textbox under the heading "message" appears.
- If the box is checked, when the share is saved, the link will be automatically sent to the email entered above.
- This method could have potential issues depending on the email software the recipient uses but should be fine for most cases.
- If the box is unchecked when the share is saved the link will pop up in another dialog making it easy to copy and paste to share with the user.
- Uncheck any section names under the heading shared sections to not show them to the user using that shared link
- A good use of our feature to customise individual workpapers is to personalise shares on a client by client basis.
- When a shared link is opened, the user will see a dialog where they can confirm their details
- They will then see the shared page and be able to complete all work on it.
- The shared user does not see the sidebars, cannot conclude pages, and will not be able to navigate to other pages
- They will be given basic instructions at the top of the page
- The user has two buttons at the bottom of the page. One to quit, and the other to "mark as completed"
- If the "mark as completed" button is clicked, the shared link will no longer work and the user who shared the page will be sent an email saying it has been completed
- Additionally, the workbook will update the sidebar and shared item to show it has been completed
- The auditor may stop access by deleting the share link at the top of the page
- Access by the client is also removed once the page is concluded by the auditor.